4.1.2009

Grrr ... I'll refrain from swearing, but these are obscene.

Grrr ... I'll refrain from swearing, but these are obscene.

Just like everybody, I hate these signs.

… Was down at the airport to go the all-night post-office tonight (no important mail, but realized late that I hadn’t photo’d yet today … used to spend a lot of time @ the 24 hour P.O. at the airport, wasn’t doing anything, so went down). I’d planned to snap a shot of the sleepy postal workers, but driving by the airport, this caught my eye instead.

On a brighter note, a good thing happened today. A long time ago I had a client with an honest-to-goodness mansion on the northside. All the old wood wainscoting was still there, interior wood shutters, built-in bookcases and a ton of fireplaces. Red and orange exterior brick. Up on a hill. Fallen on hard times, but a gorgeous house. The typical scam happened and she lost it. Hired me to get it back. I was proud to survive summary judgment against two of the opposing parties on legal theories which I would never expect to win on again. I banged my fist on the table and insisted there was a question of fact, and the judge let us take it to trial. Spent two days in trial, and that same judge wrote scathing findings & my client lost. Badly.

I haven’t spoken to her in months. I knew she stayed in the house for a little while after trial, and sometimes was curious to know what happened in the long run. Today a title company called looking for a discharge of the Lis Pendens. I asked whether the buyer happened to be my client, and they said “yes!”

It’s probably bad luck to even blog about it before I verify. But I’m hopeful. If she did manage to save it, I don’t know how the heck she did it. It’s not like I won the thing for her at trial, but maybe, somehow, the litigation bought her enough time to wait for the market to tank badly enough that the bank became willing to sell at a price she could afford? I don’t know. If she really is staying there, she’s upped my batting average substantially, even if I can only take fractional credit.

I hope that tomorrow when I investigate what’s happening, I learn she’s saved the house, and will get to live there for years to come.

Leave a comment