11.8.2009

11.8.2009

I am rich.

Grease be dammed! I shall make my fortune on returnable-bottle futures.

Cedar Summit Farms increased the deposit on their returnables from $1.50 to $2.00 sometime during the past year. I had a ton of their bottles from way back when they were cheap, but the Wedge cashier insisted on giving me $2.00 per bottle.

I think I has five bottles from a different creamery that still paid the meager $1.50. I got a whopping total of $41.50 in crisp, clean cash in exchange for my bottle stash. If I’m doing the math correctly, and if all my cedar summit bottles were purchased at a time when the deposit was $1.50, I made a tidy $8.50 in profit.

I don’t keep track, but I suspect our currency may have gone to hell in the time it took me to successfully speculate on the bottle-futures market. I’m not sure how that impacts my bottom line. Regardless, a $0.50 profit on every $1.50 of outlay over the course if a single year seems like a win to me.

Sarah and I spent the best Sunday ever. First, a nice late breakfast here. Now that my house is empty of Wyatt and Junior I’m digging out from under a mountain of canned food they left behind. Today’s breakfast included canned refried beans of unknown origin, but Sarah lavished praise on it all the same.

After that, Kopplin’s for coffee and snacks, and then a run around the Mississippi River Parkway / Lake Street / Ford Parkway Bridge loop.

Delightful.

Leave a comment